Knut
Knut pictures

Flea Markets in Berlin

Whether you're looking for a bargain, some hard-to-find rarity, or just want to browse, there's a wide range of flea markets in Berlin to help you while away a weekend morning. Ranging from junk via antiques to kitsch, there's something for all tastes and pockets.

In German "flea market" is either "Flohmarkt" (literal translation) or "Trödelmarkt" (junk market).

Straße des 17. Juni (Flea market)
Berlin's best-known and classiest outdoor market. There's less thrift-sale junk and more antiques and handicrafts on offer, including furniture, jewelry, pictures and clothes. For second hand stuff, look for books and records as well as what could be called "antique junk". Sat. / Sun. 10am - 5pm.
Flea Market Arkonaplatz
A haven for fans of Sixties and Seventies items in Berlin's Mitte district. Sundays only, 10am - 5pm.
Flohmarkt am Mauerpark (Flea Market)
A newcomer to the ranks of Berlin's fleamarkets, this one located immediately next to the Wall Park (Mauerpark) in Prenzlauer Berg hasn't made it into the guidebooks yet - it still has quite a local feel and a variety of interesting stuff. Sundays only, 8am - 6pm.
Hallentrödelmarkt Treptow (indoor flea market)
Located in a vast former bus depot not far from the former Berlin Wall near Kreuzberg, this is the place to go for everything and anything. Junk is the order of the day, though there are plenty of bargains if you look hard enough. Eichenstrasse 4, 12435 Berlin; Sat. / Sun. 10am - 5pm.
Flea Market at Gesundbrunnen Station
A newcomer to the Berlin Flea Market scene. Sundays 7am - 4pm.
Euro-Flohmarkt
Junk'n'stuff on the northern border of Prenzlauer Berg
Trödelmarkt am Rathaus Schöneberg
Held in front of Rathaus Schöneberg, where John F. Kennedy once made his famous Ich bin ein Berliner speech, this flea market has more of a local character, where Berliners come to buy and sell their bric-a-brac. Sat. / Sun. 8am - 4pm.

Others

Flea Market Nordbahnhof (Flohmarkt)
A somewhat chaotic fleamarket on a patch of land formerly occupied by the Berlin Wall. Mainly people selling second-hand junk. Saturday, Sunday 10am - 6pm.