Knut
Knut pictures
Start > Berlin Notes > 2012 Berlin Public Holidays

Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Public Holidays in Berlin in 2012

Germany takes its public holidays seriously: they're "celebrated" on the day they fall on (no postponement to the following Monday etc.), and - with certain exceptions - all shops are closed.

Note that public holidays in Germany differ somewhat between federal states (Bundesländer), and some of the more Catholic states have extra holidays.

Overview of public holidays in Berlin (2012):

Date Name in German
January 1 (Sun.) New Years's Day Neujahr
April 6 (Fri.)
Good Friday Karfreitag
April 9 (Mon.)
Easter Monday Ostermontag
May 1 (Tue.) Mayday Maifeiertag / Tag der Arbeit
May 17 (Thu.) Ascension Day Christ Himmelfahrt
May 28 (Mon.) Whitsun / Pentecost Pfingstmontag
October 3 (Wed.) Unity Day Tag der Deutschen Einheit
December 25 (Tue.) Christmas Day 1. Weihnachtstag
December 26 (Wed.) Boxing Day 2. Weihnachtstag

Posted at 8:31 AM in

Comments
I and my friend are attending and we want to know where we can get reasonably priced accommodation.
Is there a block booking register with OofL and can we block book flights with other Oof L members.

I look forward to yourreply
namaste
Drea
Posted by: andrea | 2011-04-05 17:04